Abbas Ali Khan’s tribute : A whispher of the autumn breeze

4324_84425503173_10447363173_1892929_7108038_n

What should I say? How should I place my words in the right order such that they can rightly applaud Abbas effort of reviving the aroma of the master piece ” Raat Yun Dil Mein Teri Yaad Aye“. I must say it takes courage to even think of doing justice by re-arranging and singing a master piece that has already found it’s place in the hearts and minds of thousands and thousands of Faiz  lovers. I have always believed throughout these years that perhaps it is only Nayyar’s voice that can picture the depth of Faiz’s poetic artistry , especially these lines makes time stand still

Raat yun dil mein teri, khoyi hui yaad aayi,
Jaise viraane mein chupke se bahaar aa jaye,
Jaise sahraaon mein haule se chale baad-e-naseem,
Jaise bimaar ko be-wajaah quraar aa jaaye.

One of my friend forwarded me Abbas Ali khan’s cover of “Raat Yun Dil mein teri yaad aye”, I was never expecting it to be as relaxing and soothing as a somber autumn breeze. I repeatedly listened it for a while with my eyes closed , a dreamy composition in a blend with Abbas vocals pulled my hand and draws me back in time. It feels like , if I was watching the dance of the silence as  raindrops hymn..

Hat’s off  to Abbas Ali khan and surely this industry needs mature musicians like him.. Wish to hear more from his side in future.

5 thoughts on “Abbas Ali Khan’s tribute : A whispher of the autumn breeze

  1. Dua says:

    :)) u described the feelings,which circumscribe the whole being while listening to the TRIBUTE, in words so aptly that they do not seem more perfectly dressed other than the way ur words did …..n no doubt the soul rises to its toes while listening to Abbas Ali Khan’s magic,thanx for sharing

  2. Nadiya Adnan says:

    Abbas i have always said it and will say it again…whatever u sing…touches the heart and thats what music should be all about…jeetay raho…!!!

Leave a Reply

