A Doorway to Mysticsm

Laden with my load of misdeeds,
I move about in the garb of black garments.
And the people see me and call me a dervish.

(Baba Farid)

I am a human chained in the realm of this world. Who am I? Why I am here and what for ? These questions find their passage towards one’s heart at one point of time in life. The thirst to seek the truth drag one’s soul into the wilderness all alone. Some remain unanswered throughout their existence and some find their way to the shrines of Sufi Saint’s where logic and intellect bows down in front of divine ecstasy.

I searched for God among the Christians and on the Cross and therein I found Him not.
I went into the ancient temples of idolatry; no trace of Him was there.
I entered the mountain cave of Hira and then went as far as Qandhar but God I found not.
With set purpose I fared to the summit of Mount Caucasus and found there only ‘anqa’s habitation.
Then I directed my search to the Kaaba, the resort of old and young; God was not there even.
Turning to philosophy I inquired about him from ibn Sina but found Him not within his range.
I fared then to the scene of the Prophet’s experience of a great divine manifestation only a “two bow-lengths’ distance from him” but God was not there even in that exalted court.
Finally, I looked into my own heart and there I saw Him; He was nowhere else.

(Khalifah Abdul Hakim, “Jalal al-Din Rumi” in M.M. Sharif, ed., A History of Muslim Philosophy, Vol II.)

I looked at a man grinning and whirling at the sounds of hand-clapping and tabla merged with the ecstatic words of Sufi saints at the shrine of Hazrat Lal Shehbaz qalandar. It is commonly known as Qawaali derived from the word ‘qaul’ which means “saying” and as I close my eyes I have started experiencing the sheer power of these words. The words of Amir Khusrau veiled in the voice of Faiz Ali Faiz transporting my soul to a place not known to me before. Qawaali has become a popular expression for ages as it is based on mystic poetry by Sufi Masters yearning for the union with the Divine.It had played a vital role in the Islamic missionary movement in India, while at the same time reinforcing the faith of the Muslims.

Allah Hoo, Allha Hoo, Allah Hoo——–

When this earth and the world did not exist
When there was no moon, the sun or sky
When the secret of the truth was yet unravelled
Nothing was here save YOU, none but YOU

Allah Hoo, Allha Hoo, Allah Hoo…………..

( A very famous qawali sung by the great Nusrat Fateh Ali)

Kalams of Shah Hussain, Bulleh Shah and Sachal Sarmast sung by some magnificient qawals from the subcontinent like Nusrat Fateh Ali, Faiz Ali Faiz , Sher Ali Mehr Ali, Sabri brothers, Abida Parveen, and Wadali Brothers holds your hand and walk you to a window that opens in your own heart. It is a way of remembrance of the Almighty if listened with depth and understanding and such voices can make you go in a trance. Here I am sharing with you one of my very favourites “Ajj Rang Hai” by Hazrat Amir khusrau disciple of Hazrat Khwaja Nizamuddin Auliya sung by Faiz Ali Faiz

2 thoughts on “A Doorway to Mysticsm

  1. dua says:

    ….as if someone elevates you from the corporal world and the poor earth constricted self is drained out despite of all its efforts to be touched by the ground…thats how i felt listening to this kawali…
    tere ishq mai jo bhi doob gaya usay dunya ki lehron se darna kia

Leave a Reply

